top of page

Before & After (Comm 323 Fall 2020)

Hi everyone! As I sit here drinking my iced latte and scrolling through my WIX page that I have had for almost two years this semester I realized that it needs some sprucing up! Just like everything else in life, things need change especially as we grow as individuals. The changes that I made to my WIX page are very small but, I felt like they were needed to be done. The first thing that I updated was my homepage. I changed the colors so they were more neutral and bright than the previous dark colors. I felt like it was a little more welcoming and easier on the eyes. The second change I made was making my resume page have my personal resume as a download so employers can have easy access to the document. Before I had my resume just on the page and it would be very challenging for employers to have to go back and forth. The last thing that I changed on my WIX page was an updated picture on my about me page. I felt like the picture before was a little grainy and the new picture is better quality and it shows the location that I am from.


The easiest thing about setting up my portfolio was just having fun and creating content and layout for my page! It took a couple of tries but, I thought it was exciting and fun! I think the most challenging part is talking about yourself. I felt like I had trouble thinking of things to talk about which was professional and personable. For right now, I feel very confident in my WIX page. I know there will always be changes to make but those will come in the future. I think that it comes across as professional and just the right touch of personable! I think over time I will learn new tricks and tips for the WIX page which will hopefully make it better in time.


As I look back on bosses that I have worked for in the past and their leadership qualities. I quickly realize that I have have had all kinds of bosses and individuals that I have worked for in the past. Some were nice, some were mean and some were amazing. My favorite boss that I have the pleasure to work for is my current employer. She is an amazing woman and runs her business with class and professionalism but, also knows how to have fun and keep the environment positive. She gives us the freedom to express our creativity but also gives us direction and advice when we ask. Recently, I attended my cousin’s wedding and I’m not sure if it is because I manage weddings myself but, I felt like the wedding coordinators and venue managers were messing up on the silliest things. The first thing that I noticed was that the staff was poorly dressed and were not wearing black. They were grabbing drinks from the bar and sitting around drinking them. They were also not approachable and gave a standoff approach when asked questions from the guests. I believe that event staff all wear black and stay “in the background” but also available if needed. They should also be happy to be at work and be polite and smile especially at a wedding.


The only question I have with my eportfolio at this time is how I can make it more professional and add in my work experience with my school experience.




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final Countdown- Comm 323

As we buckle down for last two remaining weeks of classes in 2020, we were instructed to reflect back on our ePortfolio’s and Comm 323. I have personally been building this portfolio for about two yea

2015 World Series Game

For this video, I will be analysing the 2015 World Series Game which hosted the New York Mets and Kansas City Royals.

bottom of page